h1

Leaven levity from law students

June 30, 2008

When I was a reporter at The South End, the student daily at Wayne State University, I was willing to go almost anyplace for a story. So I guess it should be no surprise that I wrote a story based on this repartee found on one of the bathroom walls in the Law School. I don’t condone graffiti, but I thought it was witty, and I’m glad I transcribed it before it was scrubbed off. I hope you enjoy it, too.

“It’s funny how some real loafers get the bread…Love, Pumpernickel (Toast of the Town).”

“Such rye humor.”

“Not to mention half-baked.”

“Only loafers could write about such things.”

“A loafer may also play a raisinable roll in life.”

“I’m too well-bread to write on walls, thanks to the way I was raised.”

“Where were you raised? In the yeast?”

“It’s so sad to realize I’m too dumb to contribute.”

“There’s no knead to feel dumb.”

“Let’s not get carawayed, folks!”

Donut make jokes all the time like this.”

“What kind of crepe would say a thing like that! Commission of a torte!”

Seedy response.”

Lard almighty.”

“What is this, Starch Wars?”

“Just our way of toasting the Burning Point!”

“Any way you slice it, we women are witty aren’t we?”

“We’re just a bunch of cut-ups.”

— Cindy Hampel

2 comments

  1. A fun post! I love the term “half-baked,” and still use it often 🙂


  2. You could tell that those students were punchy from reading tomes of case law and needed some serious comic relief! I should add that, in my original story in The South End, I edited out the grain of sand that started it all. Someone wrote: “Life is a s..t sandwich. The more bread you have, the less s..t you have to eat!” The rest is history…or, at least, in this story!



Leave a Reply

