h1

Did you hear what I heard?

December 16, 2008

At this time of year, it’s easy to get punchy listening to radio stations that offer wall-to-wall Christmas songs.  So I’ll let that serve as my excuse for stirring the simmering potpourri pot about a well-known Christmas carol.  The culprit?  “Do You Hear What I Hear?”  

I love the beautiful melody.  But I think the lyrics could stand some tweaking.  Every time I hear “A child, a child, shivers in the cold…” I hate singing “Let us bring him silver and gold.”  I’d rather sing: “Let us bring him a warm blanket.” 

But, of course, that doesn’t rhyme.  I just thought if I were shivering, I wouldn’t care about rhymes…or cold hunks of silver and gold.  I’d rather have reason…and a warm blanket.

 — CH

2 comments

  1. I’m with you on this, Cindy. I’ve heard a story about what wise women would have taken to the babe in the manger – casseroles and clean linens, and then they would have cleaned the barn for Mary.

    Thanks for checking in. We held our breath all week-end but never did lose power. Today it was 50 degrees so I able to shovel some of the ice off the driveway. Crazy weather.


  2. I like the story of the Wise Women! Another Nativity anomaly for me is how I feel every time I see a statue of Mary in a Nativity Scene where she’s kneeling at the creche and looking beatifically glowing. I always think to myself, I wish I looked that good after giving birth! I always looked like a tired (but happy) wreck who was too exhausted to do anything else but sack out on the hospital bed. And at that moment, I’d hardly describe myself as beatifically glowing.



Leave a Reply

