h1

Living in the slow lane

December 28, 2008

Right now, nobody is telling me: “Slow down, you move too fast.”   I had foot surgery ten days ago and my pace right now is pretty slow.  No crutches, but my right foot is in a special protective boot.  My post-op instructions include no driving for two weeks, and plenty of sitting around with my foot elevated. 

Now that I’m beyond the initial discomfort of surgery, I’m starting to appreciate the slowed-down pace of my life right now.   For my own safety, I’m forced to focus completely on what I’m actually doing, instead of doing my tasks on auto-pilot while planning what to do next.

I’m finding it’s both a relief and a joy for me to keep my focus in the here and now.  Everything that needs doing is still getting done.  (Of course, that’s thanks to my wonderful family members who have temporarily taken over my usual driving and household activities!) 

But I’m enjoying my vacation, sight-seeing from the slow lane. 

I know I’ll be returning soon to my usual duties.  But I hope to take with me a little of that slow-lane attitude when I return to cruising at my usual speed.

With any luck, maybe I’ll even be “feelin’ groovy”!

— Cindy

5 comments

  1. I hear ya, Cindy! I remember the days of my long recovery from two hip replacement surgeries. While I hate to romanticize those times, there was something very positive (and even a little cozy) in having NO CHOICE but to be still and slow down. I had to learn how to let go, and let the guys do the laundry their way, and to let the house go a little bit. But once I did, there was great relief, and I developed an almost Zen-like appreciation for “non-doing.” Sadly, once I recovered, it didn’t take me long to get back to my Type A personality …


  2. Cindy, I’m sorry to hear about your foot surgery but glad to hear you are taking care of yourself. As hard as it is to be sidelined, you’ve found the silver lining. and now you have time to watch all those wonderful Christmas movies. I wish you health and happiness in the new year. I have enjoyed getting to know you.


  3. Thanks, ladies, for your nice comments. I think my case might offer anecdotal evidence for the theory that the more choices we have, the less happy we are!


  4. Hi, Cindy — Sorry to hear about your surgery. Best wishes for a full recovery!

    I’ve had to slow down a little bit myself. I pitch for my company softball team, and usually after the season is over my arm is always a little sore, but its recovered relatively quickly. This year, however, it never quite came back, and its been painful to this day. Its not debilitating or anything, but I finally went to see the doctor. He said I had a “frozen shoulder.” I have a referral for physical therapy, but I’m doing some independent study first. I definitely have slowed down my exercise regimen, though.

    Its nothing compared to what you’re going through, but I can relate in a small way.

    Regards, Bud


  5. Hi, Bud. I hope you’re feeling better, too. A frozen shoulder doesn’t sound very comfortable. I hope the therapy helps you.



Leave a Reply

