h1

Location, location, location

January 7, 2009

No, I’m not talking about real estate.  I’m talking about body fat.  According to a recent article in the Detroit Free Press, the location of fat on our bodies plays a big role in our health.

“It’s not what you weigh, it’s where you weigh,” says Tim Church, director of preventive medicine research at Pennington Biomedical Research in Baton Rouge, La.  And researchers from the University of Michigan found that visceral fat (deep inside our bodies) is far worse for our health than simple subcutaneous fat, which is found just under the skin.

But wait.  There’s hope.  Exercise works quite well to shrivel up visceral fat.

So keep walking!

3 comments

  1. I’ve started back up on the exercise bike in the bowels of our basement… thankfully, there’s a small TV there, which I can watch while I peddle. Being an outdoor bicycle enthusiast, this is NOT fun for me, but I realize the need …


  2. I know how you feel. I’d like to walk again outside, but I’ll gratefully settle for the mall once I get the okay from my foot doctor.


  3. I could walk outside through the winter when I lived in the city – not so in the woods. The treadmill keeps me honest because now I have no excuses. I have the TV to keep me occupied and, luckily, a window where I can look out on all the snow. Wishing you a speedy recovery, Cindy.



Leave a Reply

