h1

Launder and burn calories at the same time

March 5, 2009
5 comments

  1. Nice idea. Actually, I’ve often thought about what could be accomplished if all the energy expended at gyms were actually applied to productive work.

    Lots of green energy going to waste.


  2. I agree! Maybe we could put unemployed people to work by generating electricity at gyms — and they could stay in shape, too.

    I have a book written by a former Mennonite missionary, Doris Janzen Longacre. The book is titled, Living More with Less. It compiles helpful advice from many sources, including missionaries who learned energy-saving ideas from the people they came to help. One suggestion talks about how Asians often use bicycles for a variety of things, including carting items by balancing it on one tire. I like energy-saving suggestions that are “off the grid.”


  3. Now THAT’S a weight loss concept if ever there was one … If I knew I could get something accomplished while losing weight and gaining muscle tone, that would motivate me 🙂


  4. Believe it or not, I have a friend who jogs in place while ironing. The coordination (and dedication to exercise) that is required is mind-boggling to me. Imagine the repercussions if you stumble?!?!?

    I have a hard time managing either of those tasks by themselves …


  5. […] Here’s the link.  So let’s raise a toast (or a mug of coffee) to top-loaders, side loaders, and, of course, the grid-free bacilavadora! […]



Leave a Reply

