h1

Learning from dogs

April 20, 2009

Here’s a little blurb I saw in one of our local community newspapers:

“Registered therapy dogs will be available for children to read to in a one-on-one setting at…(the local library).  The dogs are brought in to help children improve reading skills, as the dogs stay attentive and do not judge the reader….”

This reminded me of a movie I saw long ago, called “If a Man Answers.”  The gist of the comedy is that a wife learns it pays to treat her husband like a dog. 

In a similar way, maybe more of our relationships would be happier if we acted like these therapy dogs: staying more attentive to people and judging them less.

3 comments

  1. What an amazing idea to promote literacy. Thanks for sharing this story!


  2. That story really amazed me, too.


  3. […] Thanks to my cousin Ellen for sending me this picture…inspired by a blog I posted in April, titled, “Learning from Dogs.” […]



Leave a Reply

