h1

Phone harassment: (804) 412-8246

August 29, 2009

Apparently, I’m not the only one getting harassing phone calls from (804) 412-8246.  The Caller ID lists the caller as “WS Learning Center.”    They started calling us over last month or so and it’s common for us to receive six or seven calls from them in a day.  After trying several ways to stop these phone calls, I e-mailed my United States Senator.   Here’s what I wrote:

Dear Senator ____:

I’m wondering if you can do anything about a company that seems to be violating the Do Not Call Registry. 

Our house has been getting repeated phone calls from “WS Learning Center.”  At first we ignored the calls and simply did not pick up when they called.  But lately, we’ve been getting six or seven calls from this outfit in one day. 

I tried calling back the number I saw on my Caller ID log, and I was told I could not talk to anyone at that number.  If I wanted my number off their list, I needed to press 2.  Well, I’m suspicious of an outfit that harasses you so much that they want to encourage you to press a certain number.  I’m suspicious that I might be somehow making some other phone call I’m not intending to make.

 Another time, I tried picking up the phone in the middle of their 4 rings, but nobody answers. 

 I find it pure harassment.  Our house has registered with the Do Not Call Registry and I don’t know how this company can keep getting away with this.

I tried blocking the number from ringing, using “Selective Call Rejection” from our phone provider, but that didn’t work.

 I called our local police department, but they couldn’t help me either.

 Could your office please look into this?

Has anybody else here dealt with “WS Learning Center” phone calls?  I’ll keep you posted if something happens to stop these calls.

5 comments

  1. I TOO AM RECEIVING 3 TO 5 CALLS ADAY. THEY SAY NOTHING JUST A FEW CLICKS AND THEN A BUSY . WOULD LIKE TO FIND OUT ANYWAY TO STOP THEM OTHER THAN JUST NOT ANSWERING.


  2. Jo Ann, I don’t know what kind of phone service you have, but our provider is through an internet cable service. So I was able to use their feature called “Selective Call Rejection.” That stopped those phone calls from ringing.

    I hope this helps. Good luck!


  3. After receiving numerous calls over the course of several days – at all hours of the day – I finally spoke to “Travis” at WS Learning Center. He said he was sending my son an ACT prep course for $169 (that would be good for the next 10 years for any of my younger children – they must not have mentioned “Common Core” to them yet). When I said we weren’t interested, he tried another, somewhat clumsy, sales pitch, before I could respond, he hung up on me. Who are these people?


  4. Time to call the Federal Trade Commission and complain?


  5. We put this number on our phone-blocker, so we’re not receiving calls from them anymore. But for those who are, I think it couldn’t hurt to contact the FTC!



Leave a Reply

