h1

Letter to the editor was printed…sort of

May 19, 2010

You may recall an earlier post about a letter to the editor I sent to our local daily newspaper.  My letter contrasted the more than two-to-one coverage the paper offered to two visitors who appeared in Michigan on the same day: former Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin and current U.S. President Barack Obama.

In my earlier post, I promised to mention if the newspaper printed my letter.  It did…13 days after I e-mailed it to the editor.  However, the paper cut out my last paragraph that sums up the disparity in coverage.  Here again is the missing paragraph:

The bottom line is that the Tribune chose to devote more of its local resources, in both news personnel and news ink, to an address by a former Governor compared to a rare address by a sitting President at U of M.

One comment

  1. This paper is halfway across the country from me and I’m still getting bad karma from them. They don’t really want to hear any dissent from their readers.



Leave a Reply

