h1

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

June 6, 2011

I like to bake cookies.  Most of the time, I bake for my kids, whether they walk in the door from school or work.  But I’ve also baked cookies for adults, including customers at  bake sales and classmates in one of my paralegal classes. The class began at 6 p.m. and our instructor, a retired judge, suggested with a twinkle in his eye that donations of food were quite welcome, even though our class was held inside one of the county courtrooms after hours.

I use olive oil, so the cookies have no trans-fats!  (And in a way, that’s fitting…because I tweaked this recipe from one I found on the web site of Olive Osmond, mother of  the famous singing clan.)  I look for boxes of devil’s food cake mix that are on sale.  Around here, I can usually find a box for a dollar or less. It doesn’t matter to me whether the cake mix has pudding in it.  I like to double or even triple the batch and store the remaining dough in a container in the fridge, where the dough keeps well for several weeks.  When I get the urge to bake, I just preheat the oven, spoon out the refrigerated dough, and add the morsels.

If you try it, I’d love to hear how it worked for you. Here’s the recipe:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Combine in a mixing bowl: one box of dry devil’s food cake mix with a half cup of olive oil and two eggs.
  • Mix well with a sturdy spoon or spatula until you see no dry cake mix.
  • Spoon out the dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet.  I like to roll the spooned dough so it’s slightly smaller than a ping pong ball.
  • Top each cookie dough ball with 3-4 chocolate morsels and gently press them in.
  • Bake for 11-12 minutes or until the dough has spread out and you can smell the chocolate. 🙂
  • Take the pan out of the oven and let the cookies cool 10-15 minutes.
  • Enjoy!
4 comments

  1. I was just thinking of chocolate. Will have to bake these or at least go out to the store and find something similar because they look so good!


  2. Yum, the more chocolate the better. I love that yours start off with a cake mix for super ease. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your cookies up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/06/sweets-for-saturday-21.html


  3. Thanks, Cindy. I’ve found that these cookies are great for a “chocolate fix”!


  4. I found this right around the time I wrote about The Culprits in middle age spread:) I’ve been thinking about it, though, and I’m going to get a cake mix to keep on hand so I can make these the next time I volunteer to take goodies somewhere ~ then I can have a taste but not be tempted to eat the whole batch!



Leave a Reply

