h1

Guess I know when I’m not welcome…

February 18, 2014

This blog only makes sense if I let you know that I’m a member of Phi Beta Kappa. So it’s out. I bring this up because I just learned that I am not welcome in a certain group. That group is called Kappa Beta Phi. It is comprised of Wall Street elites who hold annual meetings to mock Phi Beta Kappa, its members, the symbols on the PBK gold key and the PBK motto: “Love of learning the guide of life.”

Instead, the motto of this group is: Dum vivamus edimus et biberimus.” Evidently, this is Latin for:  “While we live, we eat and drink.”

If you have the stomach for it, I suggest you read the article and listen to the audio provided by reporter Kevin Roose in New York Magazine, who donned a tux and dove undercover to learn more about this group of Wall Street elites. The KBP mocks other groups as well, but I’ll leave that for others to discuss.

The speaker on the audio explains that the KBP motto means that its members eat and drink regardless of a bull market or a bear market.

That’s great for them. But what about their fellow Americans who aren’t eating and drinking right now, thanks in part to economic policies and political cost-cutting decisions that affect unemployment insurance and food stamps?

When I think about that, all I can say is that I’m glad I’m not welcome at KBP.

Leave a Reply

